Football 101: Hockey 101

Football 101:

I won my fantasy football league again this week! I even set my own lineup too. I have to admit through, this week I didn’t watch any football at all.

Instead my friend and I made a trip to Nashville for a  Predators Hockey game Sunday. Her dad got us free tickets, so we couldn’t refuse and I had always wanted to go to a NHL game. I went to a Knoxville Ice Bears game once, they play in the Southern Professional Hockey League, but it’s not quite the same as a NHL.

We went to a restaurant on Broadway next to Bridgestone Arena to enjoy Nashville’s live music scene. Titans fans filled the street celebrating the teams victory against the Chargers earlier in the day.

My friend and I made it to our seats a few minutes late and missed the only fight in the game. That was going to be the highlight of the game for me, so I was a little disappointed.

I found out that Hockey was so much more the grown men getting in fights. The way it makes the most sense to me is it’s “soccer with sticks.” I guess it involves skates, ice, and much smaller goals too. I may of have a problem with comparing all sports to soccer.

photo

What I learned: The game was extremely fast with 3 periods lasting 20 minutes each. Penalty shots are taken in two circles called the face-off spot. The face-off spots are located in front of the goal on the left and right sides.

I’m not sure about all of the rules with this sport either, but I can’t wait to find out and go to another game. Preseason is just about to end so I’m just in time. I’ve always said I would love hockey, this is my chance.

The Predators won against the Islanders 2-0.

I’m not going to give up on football, despite what I tweeted at the hockey game. I will still try to love it too.

Leave a Reply

